LaunchBox Community Forums

Importing Infocom games...

darthv8dr

Hi everyone, I am a noob to Launchbox, though I've used other front ends before. I am having the hardest time finding any info pertaining to importing Interactive Fiction. I use Frotz most of the time, but will consider another program if it will help get my collection of Infocom IF titles into Launchbox. Any suggestions are more than welcome. Thanks

What do you need help with? You really didn't elaborate what you're having trouble with? If you are having a hard time adding stuff to LaunchBox, know that you can add anything as an emulator and anything as a rom. There is no set specific rules. You can add anything you want to LaunchBox.

My apologies, I will elaborate here. When I go into Launchbox/Tools/ it appears that I should add an emulator, such as Windows Frontz, but when adding an emulator I haven't found what info should be put in for Associated Platforms. I assume that it would be something related to Z-machine, Frotz or Gargoyle. I get that you can add whatever you want, but I don't quite understand how. To go even further, I have a file named leather_goddesses_of_phobos.z5 Unless I tell Launchbox what program to use, it wouldn't know what to do. So my .z5 file has to be associated to some application. How does this work? If there is a specific thread in the forums you could point that helps explain this, I'd love to know.