LaunchBox Community Forums

Launchbox Control Issues with Gamepad/Joystick

harperj

Hi all. I've been using Launchbox/Bigbox for a few months now and am very happy with it. I've got an I-Pac Ultimate I/O interface device for connecting 2 JLFs, a trackball, and a handful of buttons. All my controls have been running great with Bigbox/Launchbox and the configured emulators (including MAME, Retroarch, etc). Until recently all the buttons and joysticks have been configured as keyboard switches via the I-Pac and everything was fine. However, I wanted to add some PC games to my collection, and as you know many/most of these require joysticks to play local multiplayer, so I decided to update the I-Pac firmware (from version 1.30 to 1.36) to add support for 2 joysticks. (Until I-Pac update 1.36 only 1 joystick was available per I-Pac.) I completed the update, set up 2 games (Castle Crashers, Ether Vapor) outside of Launchbox, things were working great. However, now when I open Launchbox it either crashes or opens and acts as if I'm holding up on the directional pad seemingly identical to the problem that I found here:

I went into the Device Manager, disabled both the joysticks generated by the I-Pac, changed the I-Pac configuration back the the keyboard inputs and Launchbox works fine again. But, I'd really like to get keep the PC games and use the joystick/gamepad option. Anyone run into the same problem or have an idea what I could do the fix it? I've searched for solutions but the link above is all i found that was similar to my situation. Sorry if I've left any important info out. Thanks in advance for any help!