LaunchBox Community Forums

Key bindings in DosBox games

ThomasOEM

Hi everybody

I have been avoiding this problem for years, but now I want to try and figure it out. 🙂

I would like to play Commander Keen on my arcade machine. But with all the old games you have to push Y when it asks if you are sure you want to quit the game etc.

What is the best way to make these games playable on my arcade setup where the buttons are preconfigured to my keyboard encoder to "other" keys on the keyboard?

hope you understand my question.

/Thomas

• 3 months later...

Disclaimer.  I'm new to LaunchBox, RetroArch, DOSBox, DOSBox Pure and Number Munchers.  There's a LOT I don't know about all of these systems, so there's a good chance I got something wrong or am unaware of something that would be much better than my solution.  However, since you haven't gotten any other replies yet I'll describe how I solved this problem.

If I understand your post correctly, I think I had the same challenge as you.  I have an arcade cabinet that uses an Ultimarc I-PAC to run its control panel.  The end result is that my control panel (joysticks, buttons, etc.) appear as a keyboard to Windows.  With my specific setup my player 1 controls look like this:
    Joystick = up/down/left/right arrows
    Button 1 = 7
    Button 2 = h
I.e. when I press button 1 Windows sees "7", when I press button 2 Windows sees "h".

My goal is to impress my wife by getting her favorite childhood DOS edutainment game "Number Munchers" to work on my arcade cabinet.

Based on this video it looks like using RetroArch with DOSBox Pure is the easiest/best way to run DOS games in LaunchBox, so this is how I first got Number Munchers running.  After following the video's DOSBox Pure set up instructions, however, I did have one problem, I got an "EXE not found" error when I tried to run "Number Munchers".  This was easily resolved based on the tip here:

1.   Go to "Tools->Manage->Emulators"
  2.   Edit "RetroArch"