LaunchBox Community Forums

Bezels are clipping the screen

akaGrimus

Hi there,

I am very new to using Launchbox. I installed the program, imported a set of SNES Roms (I own) and ran the wizard that imported RetroArch, box art, videos and bezels. Once I launched the game (in this case Super Baseball 2020) the game was really clipped. I attached the screenshot.  

Thanks for any help!

Screenshot 2022-07-25 132025.png

I noticed this after firing up Sega Master System games through Retroarch. They defaulted to either something like 3:2 or 8:7 ratio. I bet the same is happening here. It's a display aspect ratio setting and I think SNES might default to 8:7....whichever one it is it will looked "messed up" when we're used to seeing these games on a 4:3 aspect ratio. The bezels are made to work with a 4:3 aspect ratio for SNES hence what looks like the game screen is getting cropped down. so you just need to change this setting in Retroarch. I cannot remember how to get to the exact setting off the top of my head so you will need to poke around in likely video or display options. It might be on "core provided", you would want 4:3

OK I wanted to give better advice. Here is more details of what to check, please do the following....

Open Retroarch and run the game as you normally would

Once the game is running open the menu with the F1 key

Go to "Main Menu", then "Quick Menu", then go to "Options" (Note it should default to going to the Quick Menu screen when you first hit F1)

Adjust "Preferred Aspect Ratio" to 4:3

Now this only works if you have the main video settings set to "Core Provided". That is under "Settings", "Video", "Scaling". You want Aspect Ratio set to "Core Provided". I think this is the default setting, but if you want to be safe double check it is set like that

Note on this same screen I have integer scale OFF and Crop Overscan ON