LaunchBox Community Forums

REQ - Someone to alter an image for me.

djweevil

Hello all could someone please take the following image erase the background and make it a png file. I tried in photoshop but I am always left with jaggies. I'm not very good with the graphics thing. Thank you very much for your time. And have a great day. http://sharkberg.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/06/NES-Console1.jpg

djweevil said I tried in photoshop but I am always left with jaggies. I'm not very good with the graphics thing. Thank you very much for your time. And have a great day.
Have some of my time. :) I'm providing this on the following wisdom: "If you give a man a fire he'll keep warm for a few hours but if you set a man on fire and he'll stay warm for the rest of his life." Open your image in PS. Create a transparent layer under it and all that super basic stuff you already know... 1.JPG Use the "Quick Selection" tool, NOT the Magic Wand. This newer tool does a similar job but is soooooo much more accurate. Just select it and pretty much just paint the areas to select. It'll intelligently do the job. 2.JPG If you need to, you can Select > Refine Edge (Alt+Ctrl+R) and give it a tiny amount of feather to remove "jaggies". 3.JPG You can now delete the selected area. I'm using a red layer under it so I can see if there're any "jaggies" left more clearly. 4.JPG Without the red background we're left with a nice super-clear image with a transparent background. 5.JPG Now you can save it. I still like to use the old-fashioned "Save for Web" rather than the newer Export tools. Old habits die hard, but it works. For transparent PNG files don't use anything less than PNG-24. 6.JPG Job done! <3