LaunchBox Community Forums

Tankstick not working in game

Erik V

Would help to know what emulator. Tankstick should work relatively easy on most emulators. I use it with not much issue. The 4 settings on the tankstick are only for custom mapping the controls of the tanktick to specific keys if you do not want to use the stock mapping. Mode 1 is not programmable. Mode 2-3 are. 

Did you open the emulator and bind the controls to your tankstick?

MAME is the first one I’m trying to setup. I must be making a big rookie mistake. I can scroll through the various systems, I can highlight a game. But then no button works to pick the game. I can hit enter on the keyboard to pick a game but then the joystick doesn’t work in the game. Sorry if I’m not explaining it well enough. This is my first attempt at getting this setup. 

Thanks. 

You have to set the control mappings in both the emulators and in BigBox. Some will work outright, but always best to set them. 

For the games you will need map the controls in each emulator directly. For Mame just launch a game and hit Tab on your keyboard. Map the controls you want using the input options in Mame. You can set universal ones for all games using Input (General). Then afterwards you can set game specific ones by editing the controls in the option Input (This Machine).

Also go in the settings in BigBox and go to keyboard controls and map the controls you want for BigBox there for your Tankstick. 

I have the mapping in both mame and BigBox identical. When I push tab in the game it shows the same mapping as in the mame application. The joystick is still not working in the game. In the device mapping in mame I have keyboard chosen for the adstick. Is there something in bigbox that isn’t configured correctly? I’m at a loss what to try next.