LaunchBox Community Forums

Looking to upgrade PC for gaming?

Stu1690

Hi

I am fairly new to using Launchbox and i have been testing it on my main PC over the last few days. So far i quite like the interface and how easy it is to get setup.

My main questions are that i have two PC's. One that is used as my main computer and another that is primarily used as a Media Centre for all of my backups of Movies, TV Shows and Music using Kodi connected to my main TV.

I have all of my Consoles (PS2,PS3,PS4,Dreamcast,Wii U) setup to my main TV  but i am thinking of de-cluttering my living room and having an all in one option upgrading my Media PC and using Launchbox (Bigbox). Most of these consoles are modded to play roms like my PS2, Dreamcast and Wii U but as i have 70+ PS3 disc games, i will be looking to back them up as well to use on this proposed new all in one setup.

It will probably run anything pre Wii-U and PS3 easily now i would have thought but can anyone let me know what sort of spec of components i would need to upgrade to run Wii U and PS3? 

My Media PC is using WIN 10 64bit but is quite old now and has this spec. Gigabyte 78LMT-USB R2 motherboard. 8gb DDR3 Ram,  AMD Phenom II X4 960T 3.00GHz CPU, Nvidia GeForce GT 520 GPU.

I am expecting to have to upgrade quite a few components like the CPU, GPU and ram and as it is such a long time since i built my PC's i am out of the loop on spec's and such but would like a rough idea on parts to see if it going to be worth the cost tbh. It is nice having all of the original consoles out on show but they are taking up too much space now.

Any recommendations are most welcome.

Cheers Stu