LaunchBox Community Forums

Mame Stability and Crash Issues

X3R0X

I'm extremely new to the world of emulation.  But I recently finished building a full size arcade cabinet and am powering a MAME emulation through Launchbox/Mame 0.220 emulator.  I've used the Killer, No Filler lists (http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,149708.0.html) for the few hundred MAME titles I support.  I am using an IPAC4 for the control controller, and have mapped out the buttons through the WINIPAC software.

However, I have found that in many cases, if multiple buttons are pressed from both 1 player and 2 player can cause LaunchBox/BigBox to crash.  While "not pressing those buttons" might seem like an obvious choice, when you have multiple people playing, that's not an acceptable option.

Is there anyway to track what's causing that, and how to stop it?

1 hour ago, X3R0X said:

I'm extremely new to the world of emulation.  But I recently finished building a full size arcade cabinet and am powering a MAME emulation through Launchbox/Mame 0.220 emulator.  I've used the Killer, No Filler lists (http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,149708.0.html) for the few hundred MAME titles I support.  I am using an IPAC4 for the control controller, and have mapped out the buttons through the WINIPAC software.

However, I have found that in many cases, if multiple buttons are pressed from both 1 player and 2 player can cause LaunchBox/BigBox to crash.  While "not pressing those buttons" might seem like an obvious choice, when you have multiple people playing, that's not an acceptable option.

Is there anyway to track what's causing that, and how to stop it?

Can you clarify what you mean by multiple buttons? Is it any random combination of buttons or specific buttons from each side? Does it only occur while in a game or can you be in BigBox and hit buttons and it close?

Also does it crash with an error or just simply close out?

15 hours ago, Retro808 said: