LaunchBox Community Forums

Bigbox hard crashing Desktop

jarek

I am new to Lunchbox and Bigbox, recently I have purchased the license and begun to play with it. Everything works well until I try to lunch Bigbox. Immediately upon opening hard crashes my desktop, this is hard shutdown. I have to unplug power cord and replug it to start up again. Windows event just reports power failure. I have stress tested CPU and GPU using various software. Configuration is AMD processor FX 6300 (6 core) AMD Video card Radeon Ghost 7700 and 8 gigs of RAM.  (Nothing exciting but it should run it ok.) I have order new PSU which should get here in couple of days, but in case if its not that I am interested if anyone else had similar problem. Also is there a way to change bigbox theme without opening the software? 

Hi @jarek, what version of Windows are you running? For what it's worth, you should never have to unplug your machine due to a software error. You should still be able to either safely shut it down, or, worst case scenario, hold down the power button to turn it off. Regardless, I haven't heard of Big Box completely halting a machine, so I expect that there's something else going on. Can you explain exactly what is happening when you try to launch Big Box?

I am running Windows 10 Pro with all the latest updates. So what happens when I launch Bigbox I can see the user interface for about 1 second and then computer hard shuts down. I am suspecting faulty PSU and once CPU and GPU gets loaded from running the Bigbox theme it crashes. Only thing that does not confirm this theory is that I can run CPU and GPU benchmarking software and everything runs fine. I can do stress tests on CPU and everything checks out, that's why it is so weird that Bigb ox hard crashes my Desktop. Is there debug mode in bigbox? 

8 minutes ago, jarek said: