LaunchBox Community Forums

Error Setting up MAME

I'm fairly new to Launchbox, emulation, and MAME in general, only about 3 weeks into this at the moment.

A week ago I setup MAME on one machine with LB with no problem, I was happy to see how automated the process is. This time I tried again on another machine, and I'm coming across this error that stops the entire process of setting up MAME in LB:

image.thumb.png.e819a7b90c6b552775d2072242472320.png

I have no idea what causes this or how to solve it, hoping someone here can share some insight into this error?

As a work around for now, I created a new emulator in LB from scratch and imported my entire Games/MAME/Roms directory as ROMS in LB, I have them showing up in my LB library, but when I try to run them nothing happens. I can run games no problem within MAME itself, but of course I need them to launch from LB and Big Box.

Here's a screen of my emulator settings, maybe there's a box ticked or unticked that is wrong? I'm not sure and I'm coming up empty on google searches. I would use the full MAME importer (worked perfect a week or so ago) but since the error from my previous post blocks the process, I'm trying to avoid the auto MAME importer method and just manually import my MAME roms like NES, Genesis, Saturn, etc.

image.thumb.png.1dbcf8d2bbac3b2e6d5cf52f2d0697a0.pngimage.thumb.png.099f1bf48abf9a8060882585c8ffe19d.png

Something else that's really weird is that when I imported the ROMS manually, it asked me to create the typical MAME playlists; although it created them, they are all empty.....image.thumb.png.a6d1f4ddd81c855c9a05318638ac420d.png

I know I'm making some newbie mistakes, I just can't figure out what, but I bet it's something obvious! Appreciate the help everyone!

Thanks @JoeViking245 removing that command line allowed MAME to launch! The only minor issue is that my gamepad stopped working, but I fixed that by setting the input buttons again inside MAME itself.