LaunchBox Community Forums

SNES Works in Retroarch, not via Launchbox

Garrick_Greathouse

Windows 10 fully updated.

Asus N501VW Laptop.

I've been using the Launchbox/Retroarch combination for about six months. I've set this up multiple times on multiple computers and can always figure things out until today. My NES and Genesis games are launching correctly via Launchbox, but not SNES games. I double click a rom and nothing happens. The weird thing is that the SNES games launch fine when played directly through Retroarch. I simply can not figure out why this is happening.

Any thoughts? All the software involved was downloaded today, so it's all current. The only SNES core I can get to work in Retroarch this time around is SNES9X 2010.

Any ideas? I've tried searching, but I guess I can't figure out the exact terms because I found nothing.

• 3 months later...

This happened to me as well.  LaunchBox is looking for a core file named snes9x_next_libretro.dll found in c:\EMULATORS\RetroArch\cores.  However, the none of the dll core files that RetroArch downloads has the name snes9x_next_libretro.dll. THE FIX: rename the "snes9x_libretro.dll" core file to "snes9x_next_libretro.dll" and LaunchBox was able to emulate Super Nintendo fine after.  You can rename any one of those snes9xXXX.dll files and it would probably work as well.  I hope this helps someone else.

Edited by MonsterTweaks
fix quotes