LaunchBox Community Forums

Raine 32

knightCrawler

I am unfamiliar with Raine, but if it's like the other Arcade emulators, then you need to tell it's rom paths to look where you have a MAME Rom pack, so that it can look in there for BIOS files. Otherwise there may be special command line parameters that are needed.

What are you trying to emulate?

Yea, I haven't done Taito explicitly, but the older Taito stuff should also be in a regular MAME Rom Set if I recall. If you have a specific Taito rom set and need help with FBA, we do have a tutorial for that:

I avoided RAINE because it's actually not recommended for a lot of systems. MAME, FBA and the odd Supermodel covers mostly everything.

I do not really like the newer MAME I started playing it at MAME 84 but after that I hate how many games were removed, in the other hand Final Burn Alpha gathered great games and now is even doing console games, I would just scrape MAME for system specific games but not as a whole maybe using the filters on mame would give me better result but as of right now I do not like mame.

MAME is functionally no different than FBA, besides some slight standard's differences. FBA utilizes the MAME DAT from which we internalize the information passed. So we take the game names, information, and based on the check boxes during import pass on the games in to LaunchBox. Anything can still be ran from MAME. Just because it's not imported in to LaunchBox, doesn't mean it still isn't there. I used an FBA specific rom set, but both roms are called 'mario.zip', yet MAME plays the audio and FBA doesn't.