LaunchBox Community Forums

Feature Request: Discover Mode

Coldain

Hey guys I'm pretty new to the scene moving most of my things over from Hyperspin. I thought I might share some ideas/feature requests i had. This is kind of a group of features that work towards one big feature. What inspired this thought is going through my collection and fondly remembering games and realizing there were other similar great games I had never played or even games in the same series that I hadn't ever realized were there. I wouldn't expect this feature to be implemented all at once but to maybe be an aim as the other features get implemented that eventually they'll converge to create this. Anyway without further ado...

Discover Mode (specifically in Big Box but also in LaunchBox): A intuitive and quick way to both rediscover old favorites and create new ones. Through a combination of player data, community rating/suggestions, and series/genre information.

I'll start with what I think may be the easiest implementations and would also help clean up the look.

1. Sub-genres and Sub-Series (AKA Nested Lists): I really like having the option to sort via genre or series however sometimes that can still leave me with a huge list of games and still not the easiest to discover this way. I'd really like to continue to narrow down the games. Instead of having 50 genres or so it'd be awesome to look at genres and see (we'll use sports as it's a good example) sports and that's it vs inside my genre view Sports - *type of sport* for each sport. The flattened view just makes it kind of messy. I'd rather just click sports and then see a list of all the different sports sub genres which I could then click on one (say basketball) and then see all the different basketball games.  Same thing with series. Take either Ghosts 'n Goblins or Bubble Bobble.

Instead of having a huge list of series that includes (a flat option).