LaunchBox Community Forums

Any way to automaticially merge roms based on the alternative title in the Launbox DB?

Landcross

I'm new to Launchbox and one of the features I like the most is the abilitity to merge roms in the frontend while keeping separate roms in the backend. However, I noticed that it was only merging based on (file)name. A lot of games have different titles in different regions, especially Japanese versions. I started googling and manually merging roms with different names together (currently done A-D on the NES). But then I noticed that the Launchbox DB already has this information stored (maybe not 100% complete but it's a start :P). So, I was wondering if there is any way of automatically merge roms based on the alternative title(s) in the Launchbox DB? Or is this feature coming in a future update (soon I hope in that case)? It would save me a ton of manual work.

Edited by Landcross

Hi, the alternate names in the Launchbox database is a very new feature (probably in the last month or so) And is very far from complete. Launchbox will now combine games with alternate names during the import process, and can also be done after a import by clicking on the platform on the left, then going to tools/consolidate roms. However i believe this is still only in the current betas for 7.11 and not the official 7.10 release. So you have two options, if you are on Launchbox premium you can update to the beta and use it now, or you will have to wait for the official 7.11 release, which unfortunately i do not have a ETA for.

Here is a shot of the beta change log, with what you are asking for highlighted. Hope that helps.

Screenshot (286).png

• Like 1

Actually on second thoughts i think you can get the betas in the free version also, so you could update if to that now if you would like. I'm currently using it myself and it is very stable, and has some big performance improvements in bigbox especially with coverflow performance.