LaunchBox Community Forums

Atari Jaguar - Project Tempest (PT) Emulator Working in LaunchBox

Red7s

I'm a newb and just started using LaunchBox recently, and was needing (yes, needing) to get Project Tempest working.

It is working now. In case you are interested, here is how I did it and I hope it helps.

I copy/paste my notes below, from my own Word instructions document; but the text field here doesn't like the copy/paste and I can't find a quick way to fix the text format.

Word doc is attached; enjoy.

·         Download PT v0.95 zip

o   This is a specific download that contains Project Tempest version 0.95 and additional items needed to make it work with a frontend like LaunchBox

o   https://www.gameex.info/forums/topic/9199-project-tempest-loader/

§  See entry by Brian Hoffman on December 15, 2010, where he provides a loader he created

·         Thanks, Brian!!! Even though you’ll probably never read this, but hey, I never take credit for things I didn’t do, and I cite where needed to give props where due.

§  I take no credit for making any of the files; I’m simply writing this to try and help other people make sense of making Project Tempest work because I’ve seen many forums of people trying, failing, and giving up on Project Tempest with various frontends… I’m a newbie to frontends (only been tinkering with LaunchBox for about a week) and I was on a mission to make Project Tempest work... because the RetroArch Virtual Jaguar core (for newbies like me that read this, just think of a “core” as like the emulator that Retroarch uses; it’s their terminology) played Tempest 2000 and Raiden horrendously slow with awfully messed up sound on my atom processor beast Asus T200TA netbook, and Project Tempest emulated them at 60 FPS with awesome sound. It was a lot of trial and error with the given instructions, so I hope my instructions/post helps.

·         Extract zip to folder named PT v0.95

o   There should be 4 items in the folder

§  PT.exe