LaunchBox Community Forums

Updating MAME Split Set

NinjaBurg3r

In the past, I kept non-merged MAME collections and would only update by downloading a full new set once in a great while.  I've recently switched over to a split rom set as I would like to stay more up-to-date with the monthly MAME releases and from my understanding, split sets are the easiest to update as they do not require the use of other programs such as CLRMamePro.  I saw this quote from SentaiBrad in a different thread on this forum that led me down the split set path:

Importing either works, but I found myself taking the extra 10GB or so hit and going with split. With split I can just drop in an update pack and be fine. With merged I'd either have to re-download an entire merged set or use a program like CLRMamePro to insert the update pack so it's merged right. The path of least resistance for me is Split then grabbing update packs.
  •  

As this is my first time updating a MAME set with an update pack, I'd like to make certain I am doing this correctly.  I am currently on the MAME 0.208 split set and I downloaded the "MAME - Update ROMs (v0.208 to v0.209)" file from PD.  I simply drop the contents of this file (72 zipped roms) into my MAME folder?  Will I have to overwrite any existing files?  I did not see any distinction on PD between these MAME update sets (such as merged, non-merged, split; just the one file to update from 0.208 to 0.209) - is this okay?  After I have updated my MAME folder, what is the proper way to get these into LaunchBox?  Select my Arcade platform and then Tools => Scan for Added ROMs?

Thanks for any help you can provide!

Edited by NinjaBurg3r