LaunchBox Community Forums

Dreamcast BIN Files

RaiderX1212

Please forgive me for asking this - I know there are threads about this but I just dont understand it clearly enough. I am extremely new to this...

How do I get the files I downloaded for a game - as in the screenshot below/attached, to be in cdi format?

I am following the video ETA Prime made as below but he refers to cdi files and when I download a Dreamcast game it exports into these Bin and a "CUE Other" files my PC picks up as VLC compatible?

I am probably looking like an idiot/ultra noob but I just dont understand this. ?

but

DreamCastExported.jpg

37 minutes ago, Charco said:

If you have your Dreamcast games in BIN + CUE format you can simply import the cue file into LaunchBox to launch that game. Test in your emulator first to make sure that your games are working before you import.

That does not work for "CUE" files.

The Redream emulator does read the gdi. though and a game works that has a gdi. extension but not CUE. So in my example Capcom vs. SNK 2 does not work.

16 hours ago, Charco said:

The CHDMAN tool can convert your bin + cue files to chd files, Redream can play those and they take up less space.

Thank you, but I have no idea how to use CHDMAN and I cannot find anything about it that makes any sense to me.

Again, being such a noob I really need an easy explanation of how to do this. ?

CHDMAN is included with MAME. If you have MAME check the folder and copy CHDMAN to the foder that contains your bin + cue Dreamcast games. Run the exe and it will run through all of the games in the folder and compress them to chd format. 

1 hour ago, Charco said:

CHDMAN is included with MAME. If you have MAME check the folder and copy CHDMAN to the foder that contains your bin + cue Dreamcast games. Run the exe and it will run through all of the games in the folder and compress them to chd format.