LaunchBox Community Forums

Beginner here with questions!

Damo_T

Hi All,

A real newbie here with a lot of questions so I hope I can make some progress by asking on here and apologies in advance for the long questions?

I am in the process of building an Arcade cabinet.  My goal will be to have a large collection of games with different emulators but as a lot of the games I like are the retro arcade games I am happy to just get MAME working well for starters.

So for starters I purchased some MAME collection which came with a sort of front end Arcade.EXE.  I came across reviews of various front ends and saw several recommendations for LaunchBox so thought I would give it a try and the videos of it looked good.  I have downloaded and installed it and imported my ROMS but my experience is far from good and I think I have problems in two areas:

1)      The LaunchBox does not look good (Is this because I need to buy the premium)?  In video’s I see a nice wheel type selector etc.

2)      I see a lot of game covers which do not do anything.  Maybe I don’t have these games although some I do have and don’t load.  My original Arcade.EXE did not have the Mame.EXE so I downloaded the latest so again this could be the problem.

As I am new to all this I want simplicity until I get the hang of things so to begin with, where would be the best place to get maybe a new more complete set of ROMS which would match my MAME version?  Secondly, how do I get LaunchBox to be a better experience i.e. Look better, better Menu/Game selection and only show games I have the ROMS for?