LaunchBox Community Forums

Inexpensive scrolling marquee

Inexpensive scrolling marquee

View File

First, I am not a developer, so I am sure this can be improved on.

This is a way to get a scrolling marque for aprox $100 Canadian.

I did a quick video of it working in attract mode;

It uses the following hardware:

Elegoo LYSB01H4ZDYCE-ELECTRNCSMEGA 2560 R3 Board ATmega2560 ATMEGA16U2 with USB Cable Compatible and Arduino - $20

BTF-LIGHTING WS2812B RGB 5050SMD Individually Addressable Digital 8x32 256 Pixels 12.5in x 3.1in LED Matrix - $50

Power options for panel, can use 5v from a PC power supply (red wire) or a power brick with 2 amps or more. This is based on just scrolling text, if you start doing graphics or lighting a lot of LEDs, get a real power supply,

These were purchased off Amazon.ca. Read on the panel, as again, if you light a lot of LEDs it will draw a lot of power.

I provided the code for the Arduino, That I want to give credit to Cyan Infinite, although I did edit the code some.

see sketch.serial.text.ino

Cyan Infinite | Scrolling text with flexible 32x8 RGB LED Matrix

I started with a generic UNO, but it seemed a bit underpowered, so changed to a generic Mega board.

Note, later when I built the Python code, I had an issue with 2 odd characters being displayed at the beginning of my scrolling text which I suspect was a communication setting for the com port, but not positive. That is why I used a substring command.

I used pin 49 to send the data to the panel, as it was close to a ground. You need a data and a ground, and the pin you use must match the one identified in the code. If you use a UNO, the pin numbers are different range, I had used 6 then for example.

You need to set the com port for your board. That can be done in a couple ways, one is Device Manager, Properties, Ports, USB Serial Device, Port Settings, Advanced. My code uses Com 3. You can adjust this, but will need to compile the Python then and not use the supplied exe.