LaunchBox Community Forums

MAME ROM List

KoritsuKyu

Sorry if this is posted somewhere but I couldn't find it in a search.

I'm just getting into MAME but I don't want to download every rom ever dumped and just have them there for no reason.

Is there are list somewhere that catalogs all the roms in the set and what they are?  

I found mamedb.com but that seems to stop as of 2008.  Surely there have been roms added since then?

21 minutes ago, KoritsuKyu said:

Sorry if this is posted somewhere but I couldn't find it in a search.

I'm just getting into MAME but I don't want to download every rom ever dumped and just have them there for no reason.

Is there are list somewhere that catalogs all the roms in the set and what they are?  

I found mamedb.com but that seems to stop as of 2008.  Surely there have been roms added since then?

this website will allow you to sort by year, genre, etc.  It is updated through current MAME set 0.234.   There are also various lists people have put together of favorites and "all killer/no filler" type deals (some on this site). So just depends what you looking for.  

http://adb.arcadeitalia.net/lista_mame.php

• Thanks 1

Just now, KoritsuKyu said:

Thank you :)

Also should have pointed out that need to be careful on how you download sets.  Look up MAME "Merged, Split, and Unmerged" rom sets to get more info.  You can use a ROM manager like clrmamepro or ROMVault to "remix" one set type to another but still to have all the source parts. If you mix and match set types then you will likely wind up with MAME complaining it is missing ROMs in that some components needed may be in the "parent" set vs the "child" set.