LaunchBox Community Forums

Sound Issues in MAME Games Through BigBox

JonathanEngr

Hi, all.  I just purchased and installed BigBox on my MAME cabinet.  During the transition to the new frontend I installed the new 0.251 roms and MAME.  I loaded up my favorite game (Galaga 88) and immediately noticed issues with the sound.  While playing the sound "stutters" or skips every few seconds.  This happened every single time I played the game (20-30 times) yesterday.  I thought it may be due to the new roms and/or MAME, so I ran MAME directly and played Galaga 88.  It ran perfectly with no sound issues.  Does anyone have any idea what may be causing the issue?

Will do.  I'm new to BB and LB, so let me see if I can find where to do that.  Also--something that came to mind.  My MAME cab is run by an AMD FX-6100 processor on an ASRock 990FX Extreme 3 MB with integrated sound.  I *think* the system has 4 GB of memory (have to double-check) and I just upgraded to Windows 10.  I'm not sure how memory intensive BB is, but could it be that running it through BB is taking too many system resources for my setup?  

16 hours ago, JonathanEngr said:

I'm not sure how memory intensive BB is, but could it be that running it through BB is taking too many system resources for my setup?

I personally have never really looked into it.  But you are looking at an over 12-year-old AMD CPU that is pre-Ryzen which "are not recommended at all".  Whether that's it or not, I have no idea.  But my 15-year-old i7-920 CPU (with 6-GB RAM) seemed to run Galaga '88 via BigBox without any audio stuttering.  So again, no idea.

Do you notice the same issue when launching it from LaunchBox?

As for the command line parameters, if you had LB set MAME up for you, we're probably using the same ones.

-artwork_crop -skip_gameinfo -nofilter -keyboardprovider dinput -rompath %romlocation%