LaunchBox Community Forums

AHK + Visual Pinball

dasd

I need help.

i have tried roughly 30 variations of AHK scripts for launching, resuming, and exitiNG Visual Pinball from BigBox and nothing seems to work consistently across all tables.

As I’m an AHK noob, I would love some help with this scripting.

also, sometimes Visual Pinball opens but the ROM doesn’t load and I have to use F3 to reload the rom.  The issue is that I can’t map F3 to an arcade button…

1 hour ago, dasd said:

I need help.

i have tried roughly 30 variations of AHK scripts for launching, resuming, and exitiNG Visual Pinball from BigBox and nothing seems to work consistently across all tables.

As I’m an AHK noob, I would love some help with this scripting.

also, sometimes Visual Pinball opens but the ROM doesn’t load and I have to use F3 to reload the rom.  The issue is that I can’t map F3 to an arcade button…

For launching and pause this commands works below in BB and LB.  You can directly launch VPX without any AHK:

-primary -minimized -play

image.thumb.png.11d8f56f7fdc8bea937821c393afedc1.png

I have found in BB depending on setup (i.e., Backglass, DMD on second screen) that bringing up LB's Pause Menu and using that to Exit option can lose focus on occasion for BB (doesn't happen on LB).  However, if you have a mapped exit button (I use XBOX controller) to VPX then doesn't have issues.  Do the mapping in VPX in the keys assignment page.  No need for AHK in that case because your controller will send the exit command directly to VPX.  

image.thumb.png.184057525ea2f7ef40d883598cd5491b.png

On the loading ROM issue, that sounds like a table script problem or rom path issue (or a symptom of using AHK). I have never had that issue pop up using VPX with LB using above process.   

Edited by sundogak

Gotcha.  I’ll use the exit key!  

a few questions:

1. Do we know of a way to map F3 to an arcade buttton?