LaunchBox Community Forums

Unzip or not unzip that is the question

InfinityFox

So I'm new to emulation and retro arch and I'm wanting to add SNES roms  and Super Famicom roms. I've been following a great tutorial to setup Retroarch and that is done but I'm a little unsure how to proceed. I have been directed to another great launchbox video on how to run SNES through Retroarch. It explains how to add multiple file types but my concern is that all my  Famicom files are 7z and my SNES files are mostly Zip and a few are .srm and .src. One of the moderators told me that some emulators will run archived roms and others need to be unzipped. So I'm confused as to what to select when adding a system, in fact is there a list of systems that can be run as archived files and a list of what roms need extracting within retroarch? 

Maybe Im over thinking this but a little guidance would be most appreciated

cheers

Hopefully I can answer a couple of questions for you here. Keep in mind I do not use zipped files at all for my emulation, all mine are already extracted.

First 7z or zip doesn't matter, both file types are recognized and handled just fine with 7zip which Launchbox uses to extract the rom files. The only time there may be a problem is if there are multiple files within the archive file, the first file will try and be loaded and if this first file is not an actual rom it may cause problems.

Files with the extension .srm are save files and not rom files at all. I am not sure what the .src files are but I do know they are not rom files either.

Emulators that directly run archived roms will be things like Mame, NeoGeo and some other arcade emulators where the rom archive contains several rom files and these should never be extracted, the emulator needs them to remain archived.