LaunchBox Community Forums

Fresh install on kids laptop

CALLSTANLEY247

Hi all I'm looking for a bit of advice as I thought I could do this .couple of question if anyone can help

(1)I have my Launchbox / big box on an external drive on my gaming rig.everything in regards Launchbox to is on.i thought I could download Launchbox to my kids laptop and just grab the Launchbox folder copy everything across to fresh build on laptop 

(2)do I do the same for rocket launcher or do I not need this now

as I said I am new to this trying hard and getting there slowly.

if anyone feels like helping that would be great just a it of guidance

nice to meet you all I hope to have great fun learning how to sort my setup right

thanks callstanley247

So this is personal preference, but no you don't need Rocket Launcher for LaunchBox. You are more than welcome to use RL with LB, but it isn't a requirement. If you want to keep things simple for your kids, less steps is good too.

So, if you have LaunchBox on the same hard drive, with all the games and emulators, LaunchBox will use Relative Paths. They look like '../LaunchBox/'. If you have these, as long as the paths after '../' Stays the same, you should be good to go. So if you have '../LaunchBox/' and '../Emulators/, you move this to your kids PC, and it should work just fine. If you have stuff on different drives, that's when you need to edit the corresponding XML's with Notepad++ or do a re-import. Re-importing is easy, as long as you carry over your media (which should use relative paths by default), and you import your games with no media (uncheck all of the boxes), they re-import fast and re-associate the media automatically if they're in the proper locations. So you remove NES, re-import NES (with the same platform name as before), and all of the video, music, images and manuals should re-attach automatically.

If you have any more questions or need anything explained more just let me know!