LaunchBox Community Forums

Retroarch Save Configs Failing and Fullscreen

salvoembers

I am very new to Launchbox. I found it via watching YouTuber MetalJesusRocks who used it to upgrade his arcade cab. I am learning to use it and I really want to get Retroarch up and running. I thought I would start with something simple. The project is to get a Launchbox, BigBox to run Atari 2600 games using Retroarch and the Stella core in fullscreen. I want to easily go from game to game in BigBox mode without having to mess around with the keyboard.

I went through the "Emulating the SNES - How to Set Up Retroarch for Beginners - LaunchBox Tutorials [Updated Tutorial]" and the "LaunchBox Tutorials - Emulating the Atari Home Consoles " YouTube videos.

I have run into a couple of issues. I am running Retroarch v1.4.1 stable on Windows 10 from http://buildbot.libretro.com/stable/1.4.1/windows/x86_64/

I have saved Retroarch to c:\emulation\retroarch

I can save a brand new config file in retroarch and set it up to launch with LaunchBox when I click a 2600 game as seen via the YouTube videos. However when I launch the game it doesn't seem to be saving any of the emulator specific settings. A good example is fullscreen. If I launch a game with a custom config file it starts in window mode. If I hit F1 and go to Video and change it to fullscreen and attempt to save that config I will get the error that says Failed to Save Config. If save the config as a brand new config and rename the file in retroarch\config and launch the game it continues to start in window mode.

Has anyone else run into situations where a custom config file will not save properly in Retroarch? It looks very easy in the YouTube videos but I can't get it to work.