LaunchBox Community Forums

Where to install roms and emu?

praet

Hi,

Please bear with me here as I am a total noob to LB/BB. So I've just installed LB and paid for the licence. Prior to LB and BB, I've just been using Mame without a front end.  

What is the concensus in regards when importing roms in LB? Do you either copy/move/leave as-is roms into LB?  

Also, do you put emu folders in the Launchbox directory (eg: c:/users/praet/LaunchBox/mame etc), or do you have the emu folders stored elsewhere on your system? eg: C:/gaming/emus/mame etc..   and I guess the same for roms, eg: c:/gaming/roms/mame etc..

Just seeing what the consensus is in regard the folder/file structure.

Cheers :)

Edited by praet
Worked out some things I asked previously

It's really up to you where you store your stuff but I will suggest another drive other than C:\, mainly because if / when you need to format your computer you wont lose your LB setup.

The way I have mine setup is have a folder on my H:\ drive called "Emulation" and then in there I have my "Launchbox" install and then I have a folder called "Emulators" and another called "Roms". Within the emulators folder I have all my emulators installed to their own folders named with version number or date in the case of a nightly build of an emulator. In my roms folder I have all my roms sorted by the system they are for.

On my HTPC though which only has a single 160 gig hard drive I have Launchbox installed to the root of C:\ so it is C:\Launchbox and then within that folder I have an "Emulators" folder and a "Roms" folder.

When I import my games I tell Launchbox to leave them where they are on my hard drive.

• Like 2