LaunchBox Community Forums

LB API additions time table?

cammelspit

Hey @Jason Carr I was just popping in here and asking if you have any update on a timetable for the API additions asked for the last time you streamed, I believe it was the last time you asked about the poll. You mentioned at the time that the additions that were asked for would be super easy and would not go onto the poll but would make your short list. I realize with the poll items and now LBN being worked on your time is likely stretched thin so you can just consider this a friendly reminder.

In case you forgot what was asked for I will try to explain but I am no coder so my understanding of this is limited.

steam launcher, the plugin for LB allows me to launch LB roms in steam to make Link streaming and per game Steam Controller configs much easier to do. The issue here is twofold. Firstly, the way LB does plugins, you can add context items on launch but those items cannot be added at runtime. For example, game versions can't be launched via Steam launcher because it would have to scan the whole thing before launch with a separate app. Secondly and more importantly, the launching process needs to be able to be passed on to the plugin after the double click or unzipping process. This would make the plugin single click and support zipped roms, which currently it can't do.

I don't pretend to know a whole lot about exactly what needs to be added to the API so I am going to tag @Lahma here in hopes he can get in here and explain it directly a little better. I know he has gotten a good few others asking for these features to be added to his plugin but unfortunately, he can't do it yet. Here is also a link to the plugin itself on the forums in case you want to check it out. It's super neat and really rounds off my whole LB build, at lewast it would if it could be tweaked and allowed to work a little more seamlessly. 

THANKS, Jason, I appreciate your work as always. Have a great day.