LaunchBox Community Forums

Screen rotation for vertical arcade games

djdaveoc22

Hi all,

I'm new to Launchbox/Bigbox but a paying subscriber now and having a problem.  I'm using the current mameui64 for the Arcade system.  I've read online about how you can use a "vertical.ini" file configured properly to somehow get MAME to automatically rotate your vertical games 90-degrees on your monitor.  My monitor is mounted landscape/horizontal in my cab but I can physically grab it and rotate it 90-degrees so it is vertical.  So I want LaunchBox/BigBog/MAMEUI64 to automatically detect that I've loaded a vertical game and rotate it on my screen.  I've searched online for hours and experimented but can't get this to work.  I'm not sure if the setup is different when using LaunchBox/BigBox and Mameui64 or if it would be exactly the same as using the mame exe file alone.  I don't know if this is setup in an ini file or in LaunchBox options somewhere.  I need someone to pretend that I'm a freaking idiot and guide me from step A to step Z in full detail.  Maybe then I'll get this to work.  There is just so much vague or incorrect info online so I can't figure out how to do this.  I'm hoping it's quick and easy and that all the help I've read is just really poorly written and/or missing relevant details and that I'm not just an idiot because this is making me feel like one.  I'm a Network Admin so very PC savvy but just somewhat new to the LaunchBox/emulator setup scene.  Thanks in advance.

3 hours ago, djdaveoc22 said:

I want LaunchBox/BigBog/MAMEUI64 to automatically detect that I've loaded a vertical game and rotate it on my screen

The game orientation detection is emulator based and is not for LB/BB to decide.

That said, for MAME edit "mame.ini"... search for "# CORE ROTATION OPTIONS" and set "autoror" ['auto rotate right'] to "1" to automatically rotate the screen clockwise 90º for "vertical" games.  Set "autorol" to "1" rotate it counter-clockwise.