LaunchBox Community Forums

Games wont launch plus game listing number don't seem right.

Islandguyci

Hello All,

On WIndows 10

I am very new to Launchbox. In fact only discovered it yesterday. 

I have had 3 issues so far which I cant seem to resolve and would apreciate help with any or all of them please. 

1. When I launch Launchbox and click on Tools in the top right, sometimes it just flashes up but dont stay long enough for me to select anything. I have to keep closing and reopening the application before it works as expected. 

2. When I select and game to run from my mame collection it looks like its going to open and even says initialising but then disappears. ( have installed Mame64 and pointed Launchbox to the mame install. I have also pointed the folder to the roms folder where my games are stored. 

3.There is an inconsistency in the number game roms I have in the folder and what Launchbox is telling me. I downloaded the Mame rom pack (About 60gbs) When I scan the folder for the roms Launchbox tells me there should be 2840 roms (what I would expected) but in the folder there is now onltonly 484 roms. Regardless, as mentioned above, none of them play. .

I fully happy to except I may be doing something wrong but I am not sure what. Any help apreciated. 

Thanks

2 hours ago, Islandguyci said:

2. When I select and game to run from my mame collection it looks like its going to open and even says initialising but then disappears.

When you run MAME by itself (mame64.exe), do the games work from there?  Also, when in MAME, be sure to click "Available" on the left pane first.

When you use the Full Set Import Wizard, it doesn't actually look at the roms you physically have.  It imports based on what MAME says is included in the Full Set (minus any items you checked to not import).