LaunchBox Community Forums

[Request] Change default emulator for game in Big Box

Bri Bri

I just installed the latest beta and the "Open with" feature that's now available in Big Box is great! It's important to me that I be able to select any of my emulators for a particular platform, because for some platforms you have to use a specific emulator for a certain game.

However, I'd really like to be able to set the default emulator for a game once I figure out which one works best. I can do this in LaunchBox of course by right-clicking the game, picking edit, and then changing the emulator, but my PC is meant to be a living room gaming system with no keyboard or mouse, so that's not viable.

Is there a way to do this? If not, is anybody else interested in this? Perhaps I should I make a feature request?

Also, I'm an experienced programmer, so maybe I could slap together a plug-in that allows this. I *think* the plugin API would let me do this.

Edited by guygizmo
  • Like 1

The only way I know of right now is to edit the game and change it's emulator.

I would suggest a wireless keyboard + touchpad combo like the Logitech K400 and keep it somewhat handy for when you need it for something. Even though it's a "couch gaming pc" it still is a PC and every now and again you will need a keyboard and mouse for something.

https://www.amazon.com/Logitech-Wireless-Keyboard-Multi-Touch-Touchpad/dp/B005DKZTMG/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&qid=1504242808&sr=8-4&keywords=logitech+k400

The K400 is nice and small with only a single USB port being used for both functions.

8 minutes ago, lordmonkus said:

I would suggest a wireless keyboard + touchpad combo like the Logitech K400 and keep it somewhat handy for when you need it for something. Even though it's a "couch gaming pc" it still is a PC and every now and again you will need a keyboard and mouse for something.