LaunchBox Community Forums

Trouble with Warlords 2

starfiretbt

I recently downloaded a game called Warlords 2 from www.myabandonware.com and the game won't let me save. The advice on the website is to create a save directory using Dosbox which I am not very good at, which is why I use LaunchBox. How do I create directories in game files using LaunchBox so I can save in this game?

Okay, so nothing too unusual here.

I'm using the full-size ISO version (559MB zip). I like to install games from scratch before I import anything into Launchbox, so that's what I do in the video below. I dump the disc image into a temporary folder that I call "Warlords II Deluxe Install" but it could be named anything. I use virtual drive software (DaemonTools) for the initial setup, but you can also mount the image directly in DOSBox if you don't use a virtual drive. A virtual drive is faster/simpler, but if you don't use one, for the portion of the video where I use:

mount d "h:\" -t cdrom

Just replace it with:

imgmount d "whatever\your\path\is\to\Warlord 2 deluxe.cue" -t iso

Commands used:

mount c "x:\emulation\dos\" [the path should be wherever you want to install the game]

mount d "h:\" -t cdrom

D:

dir /p

Install

-----