LaunchBox Community Forums

Launchbox / Bigbox Causing Windows 11 to Shutdown...

MuddyWaters79

I have an Alienware Aurora R8 running Windows 11 with the following specs:

Processor: i9 9900K

RAM: 32GB DDR4 2666Mhz

GPU: Nvidia RTX 2080Ti w/VRam - 11Gbs DDR5

*Ever since the latest update of Launchbox/Bigbox v.12.14 my computer will automatically shutdown shortly after launching Launchbox / Bigbox... I have completely reset and restored Windows. All updates are good. GPU is updated. I don't have any issues running games in STEAM or even CoinOps. I am not sure what is causing this issue. I have never had this problem before. I have uninstalled Launchbox/Bigbox but the issue remains. The next step would be for me to try a brand new build of Launchbox / Bigbox but I was hoping I wouldn't have to lose my previous build. Nehemic services are disabled. I have been running this build for several months and didn't have any issues until the latest update 12.14. I am running this build on an external SSD. Other games which are installed on this particular SSD run fine outside of Launchbox/Bigbox. I am curious to know if anyone else has encountered this issue. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Muddy

Have you tried running a fresh copy of 12.14? Launchbox is portable, so you can move it to another directory (also making a backup wouldn't hurt either), and install a fresh copy.

I'm not sure if it's related, but my launchbox installation didn't work after updating to 12.14  Launchbox just failed to start though, it didn't force my computer to shut down. I was able to repair it by copying my data, images, themes, and video folders into a clean install. 

Could you describe how it shuts down? Normal windows shutdown, BSOD, just cuts to a blank screen? 

Edited by Zkyo
  • Thanks 1

That is strange, I've never seen a program trigger shutdown and sleep at the same time. Maybe check your power plan settings?