LaunchBox Community Forums

Camputer Lynx

link182

Hello everyone, I'm trying to start this system but without success both by writing MLOAD"" and LOAD"" the games load but don't start, they are all in cass format, I also tried with this command line- lynx128k -skip_gameinfo -autoboot_command "mload""""""\n" -cass- found in an old post but nothing, can anyone help me? Thank you

You need to include the game's usage value as shown in the camplynx_cass.xml in MAME's hash folder.
Example Game Custom Parameters:
lynx96k -ab "MLOAD \"INVADERS\"\n" -autoboot_delay 2
and
lynx96k -ab "LOAD \"ZombiePanic\"\n" -autoboot_delay 2

Tapes play automatically and, once done, MLOADed games auto-run whereas LOADed ones may need RUN entered at a new > prompt.

Edited by spycat

Hello thank you for dedicating your time to me I state that I am a beginner, so if you can be clearer given my ignorance. Aloora I use MESS 0.210 I'll start by asking you: is the default command line parameter camplynx -cass?

lynx96k -ab "MLOAD \"INVADERS\"\n" -autoboot_delay 2
and
lynx96k -ab "LOAD \"ZombiePanic\"\n" -autoboot_delay 2

These parameters you gave me go in the game tab: custom command line parameters?

Excuse my ignorance and thank you in advance

I use MAME 0.264. I can't say whether MESS handled things differently or not.

Typical default parameters for MAME would be
lynx96k
or
lynx96k -cass1

The camplynx_cass xml shows that each game has a usage value that includes a name unique to each game, so custom parameters are needed for each game. See the two examples I've posted above.

By way of an example, in MAME's camplynx_cass xml the first entry (3D Monster Craze) has the line
<info name="usage" value="MLOAD &quot;3D MONSTER&quot;" />
That tells you that the command for that game is
MLOAD "3D MONSTER"

If you are using the Default Parameters
lynx96k
Launch the game, and at the prompt type
MLOAD "3D MONSTER"
and press Return.

If you prefer to automate things then set a game custom parameter