LaunchBox Community Forums

Mednafen PSX RA Core Settings?

bujinkanrn

Total noob here.  Could anyone suggest some settings for the software and OpenGL cores in Retroarch?  I've played around with 2x resolution in both cores, but I get SLOW audio if I go 4x or higher.  I'm not sure what general effect scaling, dithering, cropping, or shaders have, and I'm not sure how much slowdown they might cause.  My PC specs are as follows:

i7 990x, Win10 x64

24 Gb DDR3

GTX 980Ti

Particularly, I'm trying to get Chrono Cross looking nice with synced audio.  Any suggestions are much appreciated :-)

I don't know where to tell you to start unfortunately, I don't use it myself since I have no need for it with the 2D sprite games I play on the PSX.

All I can say is mess around with it and if things go tits up just wipe out the hardware psx core config file and start over with it. Not a good answer I know but it's the best I got right now.

• Like 1

After playing with Mednafen, I think my hardware may be starting to show its age.  Admittedly, I'm not experienced in tinkering with OpenGL.  With Mednafen's focus on accuracy, I'm sure it needs more juice to up-res on top of keeping everything running true to the original hardware.  Until I build a new PC, I may be stuck with epsxe.  Not a gripe, but something to keep on the radar for later on.

Your hardware has plenty of power to run it. I have an AMD 8350 @ 4 Ghz, 16 Gigs ram and a GTX 970 and I can run the hardware version of the PSX core at 3 or 4 time internal resolution.

Now having said that for upscaling 3D games I do prefer ePSXe, it just does a cleaner job of it. The hardware PSX core for Retroarch is still a WIP.

• Like 1