LaunchBox Community Forums

"Best" software for Video Editing

CTRL-ALT-DEFEAT

This may not be in the right place....

I'm interested in trying my hand at crafting up some themed videos for platforms, but I'm not sure which software would be the best to go with. I currently just use Windows Movie Maker/Expressions Encoder 4 for some basic editing, but would like to do animations and such, so I know I'm going to need to upgrade to something more professional. Before I go spending hundreds of dollars on a license, any suggestions or recommendations from the folks here that are already doing this? I am new at this, so preferably something that doesn't have a huge learning curve before you can get going with stuff, but I do want the ability to make high quality themes, too. I'm a Windows guy, too (if the Movie Maker/Expressions didn't give it away), so I would want something Windows-based.

Thank you!

Edited by CTRL-ALT-DEFEAT

The entire Adobe Suite is really what you'd want. Primarily. Photoshop, Illustrator, Premiere Pro and After Effects would be the 4 main ones for graphics and video. For the work I do for LaunchBox, I primarily use Audition, Premiere Pro and Photoshop, with a lot of help from After Effects, but the other 3 are open way more often.

Edit: I do pay for Adobe CC 2017, I grabbed it on sale for $30 a month instead of $50, and it includes every piece of software they have. I was even able to install Photoshop on my wifes computer, just logged in as me. For me, it's just a business cost that I factor in to what I get paid, and what client work I do. $50 a month over a year (because if you choose year you get locked in to a year), over several years is still cheaper than CS6 outright, and it's severely more updated. I don't think CS6 (Premiere Pro) for example deals with h.265, 4k video or 360 degree video. Creative Cloud gets faster and more updates, over the entire year, which is also invaluable as well.

• Like 2

• 2 weeks later...