LaunchBox Community Forums

Hard drives and rom paths

KevinP

Hi all,

I'm new to Launchbox but after reading up on it and watching videos, I decided to leave HyperPiePC and went ahead and purchased BigBox. If I understand correctly, Launchbox requires roms to be in Launchbox folder and they can't be located outside that or not without great difficulty. Is this something that will be addressed anytime soon? I ask because I have two external drives with games. I would prefer to leave the games that don't require much processing speed on those and just have high demand games like DC, PS2 and so forth on internal drive. 

Thinking about getting an internal 8TB SATA III drive and just having everything there if it looks like rom paths are going to be trouble. That may be the easiest solution. Opinions?  

Oh man that is great to hear! Maybe I was reading old info..?? Is it difficult to assign those paths? Also, do you recommend putting the games with higher processing needs in the internal drive where LB is? Feeling much better- thank you D0S76!  :D

As DOS76 said you can have the roms where you want. Leaving them within the Launchbox folder just makes it that much easier to move launchbox if you so choose to another pc or drive. But if you do not put them in the launchbox folder structure it is not really a major issue to update rom paths. 

When you import your games just keep them stored where you want them than you link to that path. Just be sure to choose the option during import to have launchbox leave the files where you have them. There is an option to have launchbox move them and you do not want that. 

Edited by Retro808
  • Like 1