LaunchBox Community Forums

Emulating Consoles/Computers via MAME inside Launchbox

andreasrocha

I have been trying to find a solution to my problem all over the Internet and I have found tids and bits but I just can't figure out what I am doing wrong. So here is what I am trying to do (nothing fancy as I am complete NOOB):

I want to run ZX Spectrum and SNES emulation via MAME inside LAUNCHBOX. I got the ROMS working via the command prompt in Windows.

ZX SPECTRUM example: D:\RETROGAMING\0LAUNCHBOX\EMULATORS\mame>mame64 spectrum -snapshot d:\retrogaming\0launchbox\emulators\mame\romsspectrum\manicminer.z80
SNES example: D:\RETROGAMING\0LAUNCHBOX\EMULATORS\mame>mame64 snes -cart d:\retrogaming\0launchbox\emulators\mame\romssnes\aladdin.zip

However, I can't get them to work inside LAUNCHBOX.

Here is my setup:

image.thumb.png.55bb6e6f94c9addeca44c497bca62d15.pngimage.thumb.png.a457f0e21328aefe14518ae1c716e23b.pngWhenever I start the roms inside Launchbox the screen goes black and then goes back to Launchbox.

I thought it had something to do with the Default Command Line Parameters but after seeing other videos on YouTube I do not think that is where the problem lies.

Can anybody help me out, please?

don't know anything about Spectrum but that is the correct syntax for the SNES portion. Are your games compressed by anychance and maybe MAME would want a non-MAME rom like that to be unzipped assuming you aren't using the Software List ROMs

The SNES rom was compressed (zip). I tried running an uncompressed version (sfc format) inside Launchbox but nothing changed.

I assumed that if I can run the zipped ROM through MAME using command prompt I should also be able to run the same ROM using MAME through Launchbox.

I'm highly convinced that if you can run a program (any program) from the command prompt (directly or through a batch file), you can run it through LaunchBox. :) 

In your Mame - Edit Emulator - Details tab, is your "Use file name only..."  un-checked?