LaunchBox Community Forums

Exit Hotkey for PCSX2 working in Launchbox but NOT Big Box?

splitsurround

I'm new to BB, but have been going hard at it for the last 1.5 weeks. I have Atari 2600, NES, SNES, PSP, Arcade, Wii and Gamecube all working, and they all utilize the 2 button exit hotkey I assigned just fine.

I'm trying to get PCSX2 working with that same exit hotkey, which...it should just "do" right, since I already have it set up. But it doesn't. It takes me to an options screen, etc, in different games.

However, if I use Launchbox, not Big Box, the exit hotkey DOES work, which makes beyond no sense.

In the manage emulators section, I've left the "running" and "exit" scripts as is.

while I have you, one other question about exiting PCSX2: does the built in exit process save settings, or do I need manually save the game first before exiting/use a save state?

If anyone has any ideas, I'd appreciate it. Thanks.

First thing that needs to be mentioned I guess, in case you were not aware.  LB and BB have their own/separate controller automation sections.  If you enable it, and setup the exit hotkeys in LB, it won't work in BB until you also set it up in there as well.  Secondly, I checked my Running Autohotkey settings for PCSX2 and I have the following generic shutdown AHK script in mine (which does work fine for me).  If you have nothing in that tab for your emulator settings in LB, try using the following:

$Esc::
{
    Process, Close, {{{StartupEXE}}}
}

Edit: Also, just an FYI as this can cause problems with emulators and functionality such as controller automation, etc. make sure that you don't install any of your emulators into the C:\Program Files (or C:\Program Files (x86)) folders. Those typically require special permissions that break with frontends.  Better to install your frontends, and all emulators, into another folder such as C:\Games (as an examaple).

Edited by CDBlue

Thanks for the reply.