Jump to content
LaunchBox Community Forums

How do I stop the automatic updates?


Ramiro
 Share

Recommended Posts

Okay, so I have been using Launchbox for a while, and it's a nice front end, but far from perfect, since it will keep freezing many times (due to the excess of memory it takes to run) and won't stop updating itself. Each 3 or 4 days there are new updates, the thing is, I don't want a single update, it's fine for me like this, actually I liked more the old design, but the automatic updates changed it for me, so I cannot take the old design back. I would like to do so and also stop updating itself, I went to options and unchecked the option "install updates in background" and also unchecked the option "ask for new updates". Hope this works, if you can help me with this it would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance!

Link to comment
Share on other sites

30 minutes ago, Ramiro said:

Okay, so I have been using Launchbox for a while, and it's a nice front end, but far from perfect, since it will keep freezing many times (due to the excess of memory it takes to run) and won't stop updating itself. Each 3 or 4 days there are new updates, the thing is, I don't want a single update, it's fine for me like this, actually I liked more the old design, but the automatic updates changed it for me, so I cannot take the old design back. I would like to do so and also stop updating itself, I went to options and unchecked the option "install updates in background" and also unchecked the option "ask for new updates". Hope this works, if you can help me with this it would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance!

You stop updates by turning them off the items you said you just did. 

  • Thanks 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

3 minutes ago, Retro808 said:

Then you did something wrong. Running the installer does not delete existing data.
Look at the folder structure and make sure it did not install Launchbox and extra folder deep. 
Make sure it is not \Launchbox\Launchbox 

Nope, it's on the same folder

Link to comment
Share on other sites

7 hours ago, Retro808 said:

So then what is the version of the one that opens with no games and no info? Can you post a pic of the folder the 11.1 version is in. So I can see it's contents and the folder path.

It's kind of weird, cause after I install the update, Launchbox will open with that update (no info and nothing) but then when I close it and open it from the .exe file, the lastest version (11.1) will open, I will try reinstalling the update

Link to comment
Share on other sites

9 minutes ago, Ramiro said:

It's kind of weird, cause after I install the update, Launchbox will open with that update (no info and nothing) but then when I close it and open it from the .exe file, the lastest version (11.1) will open, I will try reinstalling the update

Sounds to me like you did not point the installer to the correct folder and it is in fact installing a second version into a completely different folder.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

4 minutes ago, Retro808 said:

Sounds to me like you did not point the installer to the correct folder and it is in fact installing a second version into a completely different folder.

I have only 1 folder of Lanchbox, I am afraid to install the update cause I don't wanna lose all config

Link to comment
Share on other sites

3 minutes ago, Ramiro said:

I have only 1 folder of Lanchbox, I am afraid to install the update cause I don't wanna lose all config

Can you post a pic like I asked before. It's hard to help without getting information needed.

We have instructed numerous times over the years that running a prior installer does not delete out existing data. I do it several times almost monthly on my test pc. Anytime someone has reported what you are after running the installer it was always the same issue. The installer added a new LB install into a different location. If this is not what is happening then it would be good to know. But a pic would help in understanding.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 minute ago, Retro808 said:

Can you post a pic like I asked before. It's hard to help without getting information needed.

We have instructed numerous times over the years that running a prior installer does not delete out existing data. I do it several times almost monthly on my test pc. Anytime someone has reported what you are after running the installer it was always the same issue. The installer added a new LB install into a different location. If this is not what is happening then it would be good to know. But a pic would help in understanding.

I found it! it was on a different folder, sorry for not finding it before. One last thing, how do I copy all my info/games and everything to the old  version? do I just copy and paste the folders?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

On 7/14/2020 at 4:34 AM, Z3R0B4NG said:

If this is just about the new default theme, you can go to Options > Visuals and select the Old Default theme or whatever custom theme you used before (i strongly suggest "Bad Old Monkey" it is practically the old default minus a lot of wasted space between stuff).  

I'm not a fan of the new default either.

I actually don't like the old default, that wasted space is just too much, and even more with horizontal covers, I need launchbox premium to use the custom themes. Anyways, I will stick to the new default for now, thanks a lot anyways!

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 1 year later...
Posted (edited)

I am mad with anger!

I spent a lot of time fixing all the controllers and games and when everything finally was in place Launchbox started to update automatically today which gave me a panic so I exited the installation in the midde of it - now it refuses to start!

Why did it even start to update?

I usually would get the suggestion that there is an update available if I'd wish to update - which I always declined because my computer is Win 7 and I do not trust in updates to be compatible.

But now just half an hour ago it started to update without my consent. I highly suggest not to enforce updates on users as we may have struggled with gettiing many games to run and now I'll need to start over. The tool is great but this is just bullshit.

Edited by mr_nygren
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share

×
×
  • Create New...