LaunchBox Community Forums

Multi console emulator

knightCrawler

I found  BizHawk emulator http://www.emucr.com/2016/11/bizhawk-git-20161105.html this emulator is a multi console emulator that even can use retroarch cores Its working nicely with Atari Lynx but not sure if it works with launchbox since I do not know if it can run with command lines,  the source code is open so maybe somebody can tell if it can run with commands!!  Source: https://github.com/TASVideos/BizHawk

I believe @lordmonkus has used BizHawk so maybe he could tell you. I have no experience with it whatsoever. It looks like it does have some generalized command line parameters though.

What happens if you just setup BizHawk as an emulator in Launchbox, don't add in any special parameters, and then just direct it towards a rom for a supported platform? Special parameters aren't always necessary (although they typically are for multi-system emulators, in fairness). I'm not sure if BizHawk uses any kind platform auto-detection or if you have to actually specify the platform via command line.

I used it for a good while actually, before I finally switched to RetroArch. BizHawk is a pretty great emulator, and yeah it totally works with LaunchBox. It's nice if you prefer the traditional emulator interface as opposed to RetroArch's XMB. Just bear in mind it's a little particular about which BIOS you need for certain systems.

Yeah it works just fine with Launchbox and it is a very good emulator.