LaunchBox Community Forums

Trouble getting retroarch to work?

Gangor

I'm brand new to this and I'm trying to get retroarch to work as from it sounds it works with most platforms.  I extract retroarch to the pc, update, apply, download cores and when i select one to load (was aiming for MAME) to work with the arcade classics it doesnt want to seem to stick or save although i do see it appear at first until i close retroarch.  With this, i cant seem to get a game to run with retroarch which in turn i cannot get to work with rocketlauncher and bigbox.  I've looked at a lot of videos and such online, it seems pretty straight forward, but apparently I'm doing something wrong. Help please!

@Gangor SentaiBrad and crew have a TON of tutorials on their youtube channel, specifically for setting up emulators etc. with Launchbox. I'd start there, and if you hit a snag, refer to the video you were using and post back on this thread and we can help you out if needed.

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCSIht6UXIEXIgz4eXAEShxA

Edited by Zeromod

This is getting really frustrating.  I went through your steps and first game i chose worked via retroarch emulator, then the next game fail and it seems more fail than not.  I've tried different mame cores and even fb cores but still no consistent success.  I was going to give up on retro and just go mame for arcade, but see the same thing there too.  I feel like deleting everything and start from scratch, but this is a fresh win 10, dedicated machine, hardley anything has been done that I dont feel i could go back and revert if necessary.

What else am i missing? Its frustrating because every video and page i read says get to this point, bam your game should work...so many issues at this point.