LaunchBox Community Forums

Playing games on laptop Keyboard

kinetiko

FYI: Noob here.... I have managed to setup Retroarch on Launchbox; however I am not able to play games accurately on my laptops keyboard as there is no configuration that I can access for the keys, it seems the option is grayed out.  The only working keys for games on my keyboard I believe are:  X, C, R, P (pause) Space (reset) and Shift, but I do not have access to a directional Pad either :(  UP, DW, Left and Right don't do anything when pressed. Do I have to buy BigBox as the only way to access this configuration option ??? Please Help...  Also I have tried a PC controller  (PS3 style) from GameStop with no luck, but I anin't worried about that now.. If someone can guide me on a how to setup a keyboard Launchbox that would be highly appreciate it.  Thank you

Are you talking about controlling your games or Launchbox with the keyboard ?

If you are talking about Launchbox your keyboard will work but it may be a bit awkward since it is meant more for a mouse. BigBox functions much easier with a keyboard.

If you are talking about the emulator (in this case you mentioned Retroarch) you should be able to use the keyboard but a controller would be best. To get your controller working in Retroarch make sure it is plugged or turned on if it is wireless. Load up Retroarch and go to Configuratio (cogwheel) > Input > Input User 1 Binds > User 1 Device Index and press the left or right arrow. If your laptop doesn't have the 4 directional keys there may be a "Function" key combo to press with another key to replicate the arrows. The function key is most often labeled "Fn" and is usually blue coloured text and the other keys should have a 2nd or 3rd label on it in blue text that will work with the function key.