LaunchBox Community Forums

Launchbox and RetroArch 1.7.0 Troubleshooting

kidloser0426

Hello everyone. Rookie builder here. Sorry if this has already been a conversation, but I'm new here. I recently downloaded LaunchBox and RetroArch 1.7.0 for my PC which I intend to eventually turn into a home arcade. I followed the instructional video by "unbroken software"(i believe was the youtube username) and am still having trouble getting it off the ground and running. Now, the version of RetroArch I downloaded, the very same one mentioned in the video mind you, is completely different looking than that in the video. LaunchBox notices that I have RetroArch, but will not launch any games, even though I made sure to load the core checked by LaunchBox for RetroArch. Can someone please help me?!?!?! All I want is to play retro games on my PC from one interface. Any and all help/suggestions will be welcome. Please keep in mind, I am new at all of this, and might need it broken down in "noob" form. Thanks guys!!!!!!

Hello and welcome, there are a few things to look out for though first make sure your Retroarch is setup and working with your games outside of Launchbox.

I have a full written guide with pictures to help you with getting Retroarch setup if you are new to it and it can be found here:

I also have a short tutorial video on setting up Retroarch with Launchbox which covers the basics and what to really watch for:

Ok. So..... I followed the instructions to the T. Got everything loaded, configured, and set up as you instructed. When I went to load the ROM and test the game, RetroArch stopped working and shut down. Is there something I'm missing? Also, do I need to leave the roms in .zip format, or extract them into the folder where I'll be keeping all my ROM files? Thanks again, and sorry for all the questions. Still trying to get a foothold on all this arcade building stuff. Thank you for being patient.