LaunchBox Community Forums

Game Extracts Files, Then Does Nothing

Mareio

Hey, I just wanted to play some Mario games so I decided to give Launchbox a try. I followed a few tutorials, that carried me until I attempted to play the game. When I hit play, It pops up a box, '7-Zip self-extracting archive' where I click 'extract' and it begins to extract, I guess. After I click extract another pop up shows 'Confirm File Replace' reading "Would you like you replace the existing file" I click Yes to all and it continues extracting. Then once its done, nothing happens. On the right side of the Launchbox It even says Ive played it several times. I am using MAME Emulator. I am a complete noob to this so the problem could be right infront of my face, either way, please help.

This sounds like you have not extracted your Mame download, it comes as a self extracting zip file which you need to extract to a folder first, then you can point Launchbox to that as the emulator to use.

I would also highly recommend using something like Snes9x for Super Nintendo emulation, non arcade games are doable but the quality can be hit and miss such as with SNES it's not so good. Also emulating consoles and computers using Mame is a more advanced subject

I downloaded Dolphin Emulator and did the same thing as last time. Except when I try to play, a screen pops up 'An error occurred while trying to launch the game: No application is associated with the specified file for this operation'

Edited by Mareio

I tried that, and it almost worked. When I went to go play the game, it launched and stayed as a black screen before an error popped up "Warning IntCPU: Unknown instruction 00000000 at PC = 00000000 last_PC = 00000000 LR = 00000000" In which it did nothing when i hit "Yes" and when I hit "No" it closed the game and went back to launchbox. 

3 minutes ago, Mareio said: