LaunchBox Community Forums

LaunchBox and MAME BIOS files help needed...

GamingMill

I'm pretty new to all this (well, not used MAME for well over a decade!) Here's what I've got:

LaunchBox 10.1.0.0

MAME (64 bit) 0.213

All ROMS including CHDs (all merged) 0.213

All BIOS 0.213

All is working perfectly fine...except I have no idea where to but the BIOS files and how to configure LaunchBox / MAME with them. I have searched but was somewhat overwhelmed with the results and could do with some help - and as simple as possible please!

Sorry if it's been documented here already but I couldn't find anything that helps.

If all is working fine then you probably have the bios where they need to be  unless I misunderstand what you mean by that. If you downloaded a full romset normally all the bios are in that set.

Mame bios files can get dumped into the same folder as Mame roms. If you choose to put them elsewhere you just need to point Mame to that folder location. Launchbox only needs to know where the roms are. Unless you used the full Mame romset import option then it does not care as long as you have a full romset and Mame is already pointing to it. 

• 2 weeks later...
On 9/17/2019 at 1:20 AM, Retro808 said:

If all is working fine then you probably have the bios where they need to be  unless I misunderstand what you mean by that. If you downloaded a full romset normally all the bios are in that set.

Mame bios files can get dumped into the same folder as Mame roms. If you choose to put them elsewhere you just need to point Mame to that folder location. Launchbox only needs to know where the roms are. Unless you used the full Mame romset import option then it does not care as long as you have a full romset and Mame is already pointing to it. 

Hi,