LaunchBox Community Forums

Arcade cabinets with graphics

Drakkorcia

I have wanted to build my own cabinet but don't think I'm a skilled enough carpenter nor do I have the workshop and tools to do it. I would like something professional like a Arcade1up but they are really dinky for $350. Anyone have any ideas of the best cabinet for the money that I could drop a pc into? I would also like to know if you can buy original cabinet art and marquees. Better yet, post your cabinet images so I can tell you how awesome your setups are :)

Edited by Drakkorcia

7 hours ago, dragon57 said:

What is your budget? There are a few sites out there that offer pre-cut, full size cabinet w/custom art and marquees. Some are pretty reasonable, and some are quite pricey.

I don't know an exact number but I need affordable as possible. Please point me in the direction of what you know and I can make a decision off of what I see.

5 minutes ago, DOS76 said:

I bought a kit on ebay for a good price but you do still need some tools and knowledge (thanks dad). I also did some additions to it like adding a cutout so I could have a USB and ethernet passthrough plate on the back.

I am a pretty handy person but I don't have a woodshop or a big garage to assemble a project from scratch. It has to be pre-cut. The Arcade1up is great in a lot of ways but it is too limited and too small. It is basically a tugboat cabinet ( remember tugboat arcade games folks?). And I don't see the point in modifying one. It's like taking an economy sedan and putting a turbo and nitrous to make it fast, a new transmission, wheels and suspension to handle the added speed, and racing seats and gauges because you need it to feel like a race car. When all is said and done you spent more modifying a cheap sedan to perform like a performance car, instead of just buying a performance car in the first place. Seems like a waste to buy an Arcade1up, and just throw away the parts you replace.