LaunchBox Community Forums

Cant get roms to work

therealvegasmike

2 minutes ago, therealvegasmike said:

I see the suggestion to check my emulator but i dont know where to find that and i wouldnt know what to look for once i found it. as you have probably guessed im pretty new to all this and im kind of an idiot.

Have you actually downloaded any emulators, as Launchbox doesnt include any?

Okay, first and foremost:

• Always make sure the games are launching through the standalone emulator OUTSIDE of launchbox.

(This is important especially if you're going to ask on the forums, as this will tell us if its a problem with the emulator, or with your launchbox setup. As Neil mentioned, launchbox is NOT an emulator. It is just a front end. You have to supply it with the Emulator and the Game.)

Secondly:

• When you ask questions be as specific as possible. You said you're new and that's alright, but you gotta tell us more. Pick one system, one emulator, and tell us what you tried.

e.g I have a full mame romset and I'm trying to launch arcade roms through launchbox but I get a blackscreen. I can launch the games fine through mame.

^All of these details will help us zero-in on your problem.

Welcome to retrogaming.  :D 

46 minutes ago, therealvegasmike said:

Ok, sorry about that. When I go to launch any of the arcade roms it acts like it is starting for about 3 or 4 seconds the reverts right back to the screen where i was just trying to launch it from. Also it is from rom set

You are still not letting us know if the games work when launched directly from the emulator.

With Mame. Can you launch and play a game directly from Mame (without using Launchbox)?