LaunchBox Community Forums

Best Nintendo 64 Emulator

Bigapps1206

Hi,

Sorry i know this is a really noob question! I am new to N64 emulation and was wondering on some other opinions on what emulator to use. I've been toying around with Project 64, most games work well enough for me (not too bothered about upscaling etc) but there's too many that I'm struggling to get playable. (most recent example being Pokemon stadium, I'm getting a tonne of graphical glitches in menus and also flickering in the borders whilst in a battle) I've seen online that there maybe an option to change the graphics plugins possible, any guidance on that would be appreciated.

A bit of background info is that i have been trying to avoid retro arch as previous experience for me has been rough (prior to using launch/bigbox) but if that is the going consensus on the most reliable emulator I'm happy to give it another shot.

Not sure if necessary but PC specs are as follows: I7-4770, GTX 780 3GB, 16GB RAM, All games and emulators on a 4TB external drive.

Cheers ! 

Edited by Bigapps1206

I'm after accuracy so I'll try the angrylion plug in. 

Looks like I'll have to get to grips with retro arch again. Out of interest would you say there are any other retro arch cord that are superior to any of the stand alone emulator offerings ? Only interested as pretty earlier on I said I would try to avoid retro arch ( I can't stand the interface) but I'm willing to put in the extra effort if it means a better experience in the long run. 

I'll try to remember to let you know how I get on 

1 hour ago, Lordmonkus said:

The Mupen64-Plus core in Retroarch is the best currently. If you need speed you can use the GLideN64 plugin but if you want more accuracy you can use the AngryLion plugin, both plugins are options in the core options menu for it making it easy to switch back and forth.

I use the mupen64_plus_next core. It allows me to upscale the graphics and get some amazing results.