LaunchBox Community Forums

X-Men MAME not working

Saca_Muela

Let me preface this by saying that I am a beginner here. I just started messing around with LaunchBox about two weeks ago. I also am not crazy smart about computers like everyone else here it seems. I started my project with the console platforms and then moved to MAME. I followed ETA Primes video and found a full set split that I used and had imported into LaunchBox. I can play most of the games fine but XMen doesnt work. When I tried to run it, I would get a loading, or an initialized box and then it would go away and nothing would open. I thought it might be the ROM so I deleted it and found an individual XMEN rom and downloaded it and had it installed as an individual file. It showed up in my LaunchBox, but did the exact same thing as before. I have tried multiple individual XMen files and they all do the same thing. The xmen movie shows up in my theme, but the game itself wont start. Any suggestions why I cant get it to run? This is a very popular game so I know it must be working for others.

Is this a common problem? Is there an easy fix? I would really love to get this game playing as it would be perfect for me and my young boys.

Thanks for any help!

Edited by Saca_Muela

can you get the game to play in MAME alone without LB being involved? What version of MAME do you have and what version of the ROM set do you have? Since  you have just grabbed a rando copy of the game from online now you have no way of knowing what set it came from so if you still have the original one that came with the set that might be for the best.

Thanks for responding. I don't know why I didn't think to try running XMEN directly through MAME. When I did that, I got this alert:

image.thumb.png.63dbfcf9c434db0bffe82d52527d8765.pngI am not sure what that means, but I think it means my ROMs is bad or missing some pieces?