LaunchBox Community Forums

Help with Importing MAME ROMs

bfollowell

I've been having trouble importing MAME ROMs correctly, or at least the way I think they should be importing, which may or may not be "correctly".

First of all, let me start by saying that I'm a MAME and LaunchBox newbie, but I'm trying to learn. If I'm doing or saying something completely idiotic, please try to overlook it and steer me in the right direction.

I'm working with a Mame 0.226 Full Non-Merged Set. From there, I'm trying to create what I'm calling my Perfect Set. The trouble is that certain games are being excluded when I think they shouldn't be.

So first of all. I first noticed an issue when I imported and tried to exclude all non-North American clones. By default, I had all the check boxes in the second section checked; the ones that exclude all the various non-arcade type games. When I imported this group of games, I first noticed that Rush'N Attack, definitely a North American title, was not included. I could only get this title to import by importing all clones and not excluding by region.

The second issue came up when I noticed that while I had a handful of Space Invaders titles, the original Space Invaders from 1978 was not included in my imported titles when I excluded non-North American clones. Likewise, I have to import all clones with no regional preference to get this title included in my import.